Available Now! →


Available Now!


Especially For You


'Especially For You' is the title of Cilla Black's eleventh solo studio album. It was Cilla's first recording project to be undertaken after the completion of her 15-year contract with the EMI group. The venture was notably produced by Bruce Welch for Cilla Black Ltd and licensed to K-tel International. Recording sessions for the album were held at the legendary Abbey Road Studios where Cilla had recorded many of her earlier hit singles. The album consisted of some of Cilla's favourite songs from the seventies (or as she referred to them on the album sleeve "modern standards"). The TV-advertised album eventually was certified silver by the BPI having sold over 60,000 units.

Digital Download (Special Edition): iTunes / amazon.co.uk / amazon.com
Physical CD (Standard): amazon.co.uk / amazon.com

  1. Baby Don't Change Your Mind (Van McCoy)
  2. Sometimes When We Touch (Dan Hill/Barry Mann)
  3. Just The Way You Are (Billy Joel)
  4. Talking In Your Sleep (Roger Cook/Bobby Wood)
  5. You Don't Bring Me Flowers (Neil Diamond/Alan Bergman/Marilyn Bergman)
  6. How Deep Is Your Love (Barry, Robin & Maurice Gibb)
  7. Bright Eyes (Mike Batt)
  8. Don't Cry For Me Argentina (Andrew Lloyd Webber/Tim Rice)
  9. When Will I See You Again (Kenny Gamble/Leon Huff)
  10. You Needed Me (Randy Goodrum)
  11. If You Leave Me Now (Peter Cetera)
  12. When I Need You (Carole Bayer Sager/Albert Hammond)
  13. Knowing Me, Knowing You (Benny Anderson/Stig Anderson/Björn Ulvaeus)
  14. Still (Lionel Richie)
  15. When A Child Is Born (Ciro Dammico [alias Zacar]/Fred Jay)
  16. Do That To Me One More Time (Toni Tennille)

Lead Vocals by Cilla Black
Produced by Bruce Welch
Arranged by Mike Moran
Album Cover Photograph by Dave Magnus

K-tel/Cilla Black Ltd
ONE1085 (1980 LP)
OCE2085 (1980 Cassette)
ONE1355 (1988 CD)
Digital Download Release
Pickwick/Cilla Black Ltd
703242 (2006 CD)

In 1988, the album was repackaged as Love Songs and released by K-tel International on CD format but was only available for a limited time as the label shutdown. Pickwick re-issued the album on CD in 2006. On September 7, 2009, K-tel (UK) release a special edition of the album exclusively to digital download entitled The Essential Love Songs (Especially For You). This re-issue features all of the album's original recordings plus two rare bonus tracks (all have been digitally re-mastered by TCM Music Studios). A digital booklet containing original album artwork, detailed track information and rare photographs will be available from iTunes with purchases of the entire album re-issue.

Original Release Date →
Aug 1980