Available Now! →


Available Now!


News Article

Pre-order now ‘Completely Cilla: 1963-1973’ – EMI’s new 5CD set with bonus DVD of rare BBC music performances

On the 23 April 2012, EMI Records UK release a new multiple disc compilation (5CD + bonus DVD) of Cilla Black’s music with George Martin – pre-order it now from amazon.co.uk or amazon.com.

EMI’s latest “Cilla Black” release was compiled over the last 6 months with the personal involvement of Cilla and her management. It contains 139 digitally remastered recordings on five CDs as well as a bonus DVD of “previously unavailable” material from BBC TV’s film archive.

Cilla Black began her illustrious career in show business after she was signed to Parlophone/EMI in 1963 – Cilla celebrates her 50th anniversary next year. During a very successful 15-year partnership with EMI, Cilla achieved 19 Top 40 hit singles, released 10 studio albums (three of which reached the Top 10) and went on to become Britain’s “Top Selling Female Recording Artist of the 1960s”.

‘Completely Cilla’ is the largest “Cilla Black” set EMI have released and is also the first compilation to present, in original session date order, Cilla’s complete works with her music producer George Martin (The Beatles). The audio CDs comprise A&B-side singles, album tracks and rarities – 9 of the album songs debut in the UK on CD format.

By special request of Cilla’s management, EMI include a bonus DVD of material from the BBC’s film archive. This contains 22 previously unavailable music performances. Many of these rare video clips are of Cilla’s hit singles and other EMI album songs – most clips originate from the star’s hit TV variety series of the 1960s and ’70s. Highlights on the DVD include stunning duets with Sir Cliff Richard (“Passing Strangers”) and Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch and John Farrar (Lennon/McCartney’s “Norwegian Wood”). Also featured inside the set is a 36 page booklet.

Be sure to sign up to Cilla’s email news mailing list now to stay updated on future developments.

Completely Cilla: 1963-1973
Label: EMI Records, UK
Release Date: Monday, 23 April 2012

Pre-order the set now from amazon.co.uk or amazon.com

01. A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues
02. Shy Of Love
03. Love Of The Loved
04. Anyone Who Had A Heart
05. Just For You
06. You’re My World (Il Mio Mondo)
07. This Empty Place
08. Suffer Now I Must [Mono]
09. It’s For You
10. He Won’t Ask Me
11. Is It Love?
12. (Love Is Like A) Heatwave
13. Love Letters
14. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
15. Ol’ Man River
16. Every Little Bit Hurts
17. Come To Me
18. Baby It’s You
19. I’m Not Alone Any More [Stereo Version] ~
20. One Little Voice (Uno Di Voi)
21. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’
22. Goin’ Out Of My Head
23. Dancing In The Street
24. Whatcha Gonna Do ‘Bout It
25. Some Things You Never Get Used To
26. I’ve Been Wrong Before
27. I Don’t Want To Know
28. My Love Come Home
29. Poor Boy [Mono]
30. When I Fall In Love
31. (There’s) No Place To Hide

01. The Cherry Song
02. Shotgun
03. Anytime You Need Me
04. Please Don’t Teach Me To Love You
05. Yesterday
06. In A Woman’s Eyes
07. Baby I’m Yours
08. The Real Thing [Stereo Version] ~
09. One Two Three
10. Make It Easy On Yourself
11. Love’s Just A Broken Heart (L’amour Est Ce Qu’il Est)
12. A Lover’s Concerto
13. Everything I Touch Turns To Tears
14. Alfie
15. Night Time Is Here
16. Sing A Rainbow
17. Don’t Answer Me (Ti Vedo Uscire)
18. The Right One Is Left
19. A Fool Am I (Dimmelo Parlami)
20. For No One
21. Abyssinian Secret
22. Trees And Loneliness
23. Time
24. There I Go (Se Per Te C’e Soltanto Quell’uomo)
25. Only You Can Free My Mind
26. What Good Am I?
27. Over My Head
28. Misty Roses
29. All My Love (Solo Tu)
30. Follow Me ~

01. What The World Needs Now Is Love
02. Take Me In Your Arms And Love Me
03. This Is The First Time
04. I Only Live To Love You (Cosa Si Fa Stasera)
05. Suddenly You Love Me (Uno Tranquillo)
06. From Now On
07. I Couldn’t Take My Eyes Off You
08. A Man And A Woman (Un Homme Et Une Femme)
09. Yo Yo
10. Follow The Path Of The Stars
11. Work Is A Four Letter Word (Film Version)
12. Something’s Gotten Hold Of My Heart
13. Step Inside Love
14. Where Is Tomorrow? (Non C’è Domani)
15. Work Is A Four Letter Word
16. Your Heart Is Free (Just Like The Wind) (Le Vent Et La Jeunesse)
17. It’ll Never Happen Again
18. Liverpool Lullaby
19. Without Him
20. Forget Him
21. Think Of Me (Siamo Qui)
22. I Am A Woman
23. Surround Yourself With Sorrow
24. Only Forever Will Do (Prigioniero Del Mondo)
25. London Bridge
26. Aquarius
27. Red Rubber Ball
28. You’ll Never Get To Heaven (If You Break My Heart)

01. Words
02. Conversations
03. On A Street Called Hope
04. For Once In My Life
05. Little Pleasure Acre
06. I Can’t Go On Living Without You
07. It Feels So Good
08. If I Thought You’d Ever Change Your Mind
09. Black Paper Roses
10. Rule Brittania
11. Sweet Inspiration
12. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
13. The April Fools ~
14. Both Sides Now
15. Mysterious People (Det Gatfulla Folket) ~
16. Dear Madame
17. Oh Pleasure Man
18. Across The Universe
19. Your Song
20. It’s Different Now
21. Sad Sad Song
22. Child Of Mine
23. Faded Images
24. That’s Why I Love You
25. Junk
26. The First Of May

01. (They Long To Be) Close To You ~
02. Make It With You
03. Rainbow
04. Our Brand New World
05. Bridge Over Troubled Water
06. Just Friends ~
07. Down In The City
08. Help Me Jesus ~
09. Sleep Song ~
10. Something Tells Me (Something’s Gonna Happen Tonight)
11. The World I Wish For You
12. La La La Lu
13. Thank Heavens I’ve Got You
14. I Hate Sunday
15. I’ve Still Got My Heart Joe
16. I Don’t Know How To Love Him
17. Gypsys, Tramps And Thieves
18. Oh My Love
19. Without You
20. The Long And Winding Road
21. Winterwood
22. Day By Day
23. You You You
24. Silly Wasn’t I?

(Live At The BBC: Singles & Album Songs)

01. Suddenly You Love Me (Uno Tranquillo) [1968] +
02. One Two Three [1968] +
03. Step Inside Love [1968]
04. Misty Roses [1968] +
05. Love’s Just A Broken Heart (L’amour Est Ce Qu’il Est) [1968]
06. Where Is Tomorrow? (Non C’è Domani) [1968]
07. You’ll Never Get To Heaven (If You Break My Heart) [1969] +
08. Surround Yourself With Sorrow [1969] +
09. Mysterious People (Det Gatfulla Folket) [1970] +
10. (They Long To Be) Close To You [1971] +
11. Sing A Rainbow [1971] +
12. What The World Needs Now Is Love [1971] +
13. The World I Wish For You [1972] +
14. You You You [1972]
15. Winterwood [1973] +
16. The Long And Winding Road [1973] +
17. I’ve Still Got My Heart Joe [1973] +
18. Oh My Love [1973] +
19. Day By Day [1973]
20. I Don’t Know How To Love Him [1973] +
21. Baby We Can’t Go Wrong [1974]
22. I’ll Have To Say I Love You, In A Song [1974] +
23. Flashback [1974] +
24. He Was A Writer [1974] +
25. (I Wanted To Call It) Off [1977] +

DVD Bonus Features:

  • Desert Island Discs Interview with Roy Plomley
    Audio Only Interview; Mono [1964] +
  • Passing Strangers
    with Cliff Richard [1968] +
  • Norwegian Wood
    with Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch & John Farrar [1971] +
  • Something Tells Me (Something’s Gonna Happen Tonight)
    Opening Sequence for the BBC TV Show ‘Cilla’ [1973] +

~ Debut on CD format in the UK
+ Previously Unavailable